fumblinglust's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Missing Him

Today is the first anniversary of my grandpa�s death. I don�t quite know how to feel about this. It�s like I was just able to put this past me, and it�s been a year already. My grandpa was essentially me as a man. He was outspoken, he was an actor, he was in his high school�s improv troop, just like me. I remember the last time I talked to him in person, I was telling him about how I was going to Seattle for culinary school, and I remember how happy he was. He was all shrunken in and all he could manage was a smile. I couldn�t hug him when he left for Ohio for treatment because he was too fragile, I could only squeeze his foot.

When my mom called me a year ago today to tell me he had died, I went numb. The words meant nothing. We sat on the phone crying for a good while. Later that day I broke down in the shower, I sat down in the tub and cried until the water went cold.

I got the job today. I called my grandma to tell her and she said, �Pappaw was looking down on you today.� I totally lost it. I miss him...

5:21 p.m. - 2002-10-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

robbiew815
redstar316
loverlay
lvrebelman
jaredphillip
lovercraft
rockboy
AFagN2Hags
oatcake
unsentletter
pinkpastry
kylsie
slumbereyes
j-tron
lamerguy
kidalex
mcearstix
dannyboyk2
mainsqueeze